Keyword search

These are the words that a German writer, critic and art theorist Carl Einstein wrote in red pencil on the folder cover, in which he collected his notes on art. His voluminous work was not destined to become the “Reference Book on Art” - Einstein departed to the front line of the Spanish Civil War, where he fought among partisans, then returned to Paris, which was soon occupied by the Germans, and later in 1940 he hanged himself near the border with Spain.

In Russian art criticism, Сarl Einstein is rarely mentioned, although his works have greatly impacted the discourse that developed around the art of modernism. In 1915, he published a book called “Negro Sculpture”, the first text about African art, which inspired almost all modernist artists with its immediacy, novelty and connection with the archetypical. This text was actually the first to identify this connection, and in broader sense - it became the study of plasticity as a model of perceiving an object in modernism art. It is exactly in that book appear almost all of the notions enlisted by Einstein on the cover of the folder - keywords, or concepts, which he would explore in the context of modernism till the end of his days.

Following the list word by word, one can analyze the works of Alexander Bazhenov: start in this zine, continue - beyond its boundaries. Bazhenov is a young artist from Yekaterinburg, who is separated from the modernist revolution in art by more than a century, by world wars, powerful technological development, the 4th industrial revolution, post-information society and several revolutions in art itself, which seems to shift completely from the image on a surface to the object, installation and process. Can we say that appeal to these concepts is still relevant? Or is it relevant again? The fluid temporality of the present seems to suggest a more convincing approach: rather say, now there is nothing that could not suddenly become relevant.

One of the topics, which Carl Einstein actively debated in his texts, was the casuativity of linear time, when one thing inevitably follows the other and leaves the preceding one. He contrasted this with repetition - the tautology stands first in the list of his keywords. This is increasingly surprising since today's approach to modernism is based on the concept of progress, novelty and linear development. “To do something new” is what people say about the modernist art, opposing it to postmodernism and other post-war trends. However, Carl Einstein pointed out the contrary: the art of modernism, in general, is the endless repetition of the same topics and methods (broadly speaking, repetition of a certain artistic language), their abundancy and development comes precisely from repetition.

Alexander’s works are also tautological, even excessive. He began working with painting (paper, canvas, banner, a wide variety of paints) in 2016 - and since then in his new studio on Dekabristov street there is a pile of paintings, which he shows easily and quickly: on the floor, as if flipping pages. There is such an abundance that it is impossible to examine them carefully and thoroughly, and it makes no sense - the imagery of these works reveals itself by means of this peculiar gesture of scrolling rather than by careful peering, whiles in different works a viewer is noticing regular plots, figures and compositional elements.

After looking through Bazhenov’s paintings, they seem to start splitting into series. Many of the series are comprised not due to the original author's idea, but rather due to an artistic impulse and circumstances — the presence of some kind of paint and color palette, paper of a certain format and density etc. The boundaries of the series are blurred: one gradually merges with another, images, compositional and coloristic solutions wander from work to work, develop and transform.

The main elements of these works are the image and composition, which can be called intentionally primitive, elementary, referring to something simple and basic. A face, body, person, flower - these are the key elements that are repeated with slight variations on all canvases. Sasha says that he finds intentional simplicity (not ease) of these images important, it refers to the archetypical – to what seems familiar and is easily guessed without a hint. A face or a flower is always composed from the same lines. Or - the figure on the monumental painting “The Mines” at the corner of Vayner and Malyshev streets (as part of the “Bazhov Fest”, 2018), is created by one swift line resembling ancient paintings on rocks – this is the simplest form that is consciously reduced, which gets rid of expressive elements, turns into a sign.

The basis of this work is the ornamental nature of decorative mosaics, which is a customary method of interior and exterior design in the Urals. Bazhenov deliberately breaks the tradition by creating a semi-abstract composition. Huge bright canvases are embedded in squares prepared for decorative elements on a dilapidated, gray House of Science and Technology, which now is an ordinary office building. These works are far from being called decorative - they do not decorate and, it seems, only emphasize the ugliness of the building, which had attracted no attention earlier; they fit too well into these squares merging with their simplicity and primitiveness into the unpainted walls.

One of the last Sasha’s works is a pop-up card with a project of a sculpture, which can be folded as origami right in the book. This sculpture is a screaming face, and a cry here is expressed by the same primitive elements as the simplest contours of a person. A cry – is something non-humane breaking out of the depths of the unconscious - almost like Munch. Formally, it is also done very simply: a few elements-lines, devoid of volume, unfold into a screaming face (an image present in other works of Bazhenov).

Tautology is perceived on a different level in Sasha’s works – on the historical one, the level of continuity. And if the first modernists used the art of the colonial countries and drawings of schizophrenics as the main resources of such simple imagery, Sasha still relies on the methods, whiles the sources are mediated. In images and color palette someone may recognize the influence of the Ural artists Misha Brusilovsky or Vitaly Volovich, someone may recall Moscow nonconformists like Vasily Yankilevsky or Vadim Sidur, someone may dive deeper and recognize Arshile Gorky or Jean Dubuffet. Everyone will be right and wrong at the same time - there are no direct references to a specific author, it’s an (unconscious, so to speak) image of “modernity”, where it’s impossible to find out the roots of this or that element. The pseudonyms of Bazhenov also contribute, as they appear in his paintings in different places. Only “Sasha B.” is quite comprehensible, the rest — Peter Shaly (the very first one that Sasha no longer uses), Paul Pauk or “1923” — also refer to the modernist tradition, but have no definite meaning, and some works bear no signatures at all.

If you ask Sasha about his favorite artists, he is unlikely to call at least one of the names mentioned above. His sources are no longer specific and well-known surnames, rather, keywords that start an endless journey on “Pinterest” or other visual image aggregators, where one can find new authors and images. In the space of the Internet, where everything exists on equal terms and synchs, the inherent features of modernism take on new meanings - the absence of rationality, the “direct speech” of a schizophrenic becomes strange, or better say weird – e.g. like with Hieronymus Bosch's works, which were spread around in demotivators popular in the “Suffering Middle Ages” online group.

The practice of constant repetition is also opposed to the search for ideal form, rather, on the contrary, it resembles the process of “unlearning”, forgetting form. And this is characteristic of both Sasha’s paintings and posters, which were shown as part of the Main Project at the 4th Ural Industrial Biennale of Contemporary Art. This media appears not by chance - he works as a designer and creating graphic ad is his routine, everyday business. Turning an advertising form into an artistic one devoid of functionality, he applies the same methods as in painting. The modernist language with its plasticity of analog form is translated into the digital plane. These posters also comply with the logic of weird. Constructed on the basis of design layouts (somewhere a fragment of a phrase appears, somewhere - advertising elements), they in fact advertise nothing and turn into a meaningful snag - there is no other sense other than visual.

The works of Sasha Bazhenov embody the modernism, which preserves a method and looks for new existence in the current situation; the expressionism, which expresses nothing, but keeps only a pure gesture of expression. Paradoxically, this does not indicate another crisis of the approach, but constitutes almost the only form of its modern existence.

Поиск по ключевым словам

Эти слова немецкий писатель, критик и теоретик искусства Карл Эйнштейн написал красным карандашом на передней стороне папки, в которую собирал свои заметки об искусстве. Его объёмному труду так и не суждено было стать «Справочником по искусству» — Эйнштейн уехал на фронт Гражданской войны в Испании, где сражался в рядах партизан, потом вернулся в Париж, который вскоре был оккупирован немцами, и позже в 1940 году недалеко от границы с Испанией повесился.

В российском искусствоведении Карл Эйнштейн упоминается довольно редко, хотя его сочинения значительно повлияли на дискурс, который сформировался вокруг модернистского искусства. В 1915 году он выпустил книгу «Негритянская пластика» — первый текст об африканском искусстве, которое вдохновляло своей непосредственностью, новизной и связью с архетипическим почти всех художников-модернистов. Текст фактически первым обозначил эту связь, и шире — стал исследованием пластичности как модели восприятия объекта во всём модернистском искусстве. Именно здесь появляются почти все понятия, вынесенные Эйнштейном на обложку папки с записками, — ключевые слова, или понятия, которые он будет исследовать в контексте модерности до конца жизни.

Следуя им, слово за словом, можно анализировать и работы Александра Баженова: начать в этом зине, продолжить — за его пределами. Баженов — молодой художник из Екатеринбурга, которого от модернистской революции в искусстве отделяет больше века времени, мировая война, мощное развитие технологий, четвёртая индустриальная революция, постинформационное общество и несколько революций в самом искусстве, которое, кажется, полностью ушло от изображения на плоскости к объекту, инсталляции и процессу. Можно ли сказать, что обращение ко всем этим понятиям до сих пор актуально? Или оно оказывается актуальным вновь? Жидкая темпоральность настоящего, кажется, подсказывает более убедительный подход: скорее, сейчас нет ничего, что не могло бы вдруг оказаться актуальным.

Одна из тем, с которой Карл Эйнтштейн активно спорил в своих текстах, — это причинность линейного времени, где одно неминуемо следует за другим и выходит из предшествующего. Этому подходу он противопоставлял повторение — ту самую тавтологию, которая идёт первой в списке его ключевых слов. Это тем более удивительно, что сегодняшний подход к модерности строится как раз на понятии прогресса, новизны и линейного развития. «Сделать что-то новое» — так говорят про искусство модернизма, противопоставляя его постмодернизму и другим послевоенным течениям. Но Карл Эйнштейн указывал на обратное: искусство модернизма — это, в общем-то, бесконечное повторение одних и тех же тем и методов (шире — определённого языка искусства), их избыточность и развитие, которое исходит именно из повторения.

Сашины работы также тавтологичны, даже избыточны. Он начал работать с живописью (бумага, холст, баннер, самые разные краски) в 2016 году — и с тех пор в его новой мастерской на улице Декабристов скопилась кипа картин, которые он показывает запросто и быстро: на полу, как будто перелистывая. Их так много, что пытаться внимательно и досконально рассмотреть какую-то одну не просто нельзя, но не имеет никакого смысла — образность этих работ открывается не в тщательном всматривании, а в этом своеобразном жесте пролистывания, когда в разных работах улавливаешь повторяющиеся сюжеты, фигуры и композиционные элементы.

Когда быстро смотришь живописные работы Баженова, они начинают складываться в своеобразные серии. Многие из них формируются не изначальной авторской идеей, а, скорее, художественным импульсом и обстоятельствами — наличием каких-то красок и цветовой палитры, бумагой определённого формата и плотности и так далее. Границы этих серий размыты: одна постепенно переходит в другую, образы, композиционное и колористическое решения кочуют из работы в работу, развиваясь и трансформируясь.

Главные элементы этих работ — образ и композиция, которые можно назвать намеренно примитивными, элементарными, то есть отсылающими к чему-то простому и базовому. Лицо, туловище, человек, цветок — это ключевые элементы, которые повторяются с небольшими вариациями на всех полотнах. Саша говорит, что ему важна намеренная простота (но не лёгкость) этих образов, отсылающая к архетипическому — тому, что кажется знакомым, угадывается без объяснений. Лицо или цветок всегда складываются из одних и тех же линий. Или — фигура на монументальной росписи «Шахты» на углу улиц Вайнера и Малышева (в рамках «Бажов-Феста», 2018), нарисованная одной беглой линией, напоминающей первые наскальные рисунки — это простейшая форма, которая сознательно редуцируется, избавляется от выразительных элементов, превращается в знак.

В основе этой работы — орнаментальность декоративных мозаик, привычного для Урала метода оформления интерьеров и экстерьеров, порядок которой Баженов сознательно ломает, превращая в полуабстрактную композицию. Огромные яркие полотна встраиваются в специально отведённые для декоративных элементов квадраты обшарпанного, серого Дома науки и техники, который сейчас служит обычным офисным зданием. Эти работы нельзя назвать декоративными — они ничего не украшают и, кажется, только подчёркивают неприглядность здания, к которому раньше ничего не привлекало внимание; они даже слишком хорошо вписываются в эти квадраты, сливаясь в своей простоте и примитивности с неоштукатуренными стенами.

Одна из последних работ Саши — это поп-ап открытка с проектом скульптуры, которую можно взять и в этой книге и сложить как оригами. Эта скульптура — кричащее лицо, и крик здесь — такой же первобытный элемент, как и простейшее очертание человека. Крик — что-то нечеловеческое прорывается из глубин бессознательного наружу — почти как у Мунка. Формально это решается также просто: несколько простейших элементов-линий, лишённых объема, разворачиваются в кричащее лицо (образ, который можно встретить и в других работах Баженова).

Тавтологичность ощущается в работах Саши и на другом уровне — историческом, уровне преемственности. И если у первых модернистов основными источниками такой простой образности были искусство колониальных стран и рисунки шизофреников, то у Саши остаются только методы, а источники опосредуются. Кто-то узнаёт в образах и колористической палитре следы уральских художников Миши Брусиловского или Виталия Воловича, кто-то может вспомнить московских нонконформистов вроде Василия Янкилевского или Вадима Сидура, кто-то копнёт совсем глубоко и назовёт Аршила Горки или Жана Дюбюффе. Правы будут все и одновременно никто — здесь нет прямых отсылок к конкретному автору, это всё (бессознательный, если можно так сказать) образ «модерности», где уже не разобрать, откуда корни того или иного элемента. Также работают и псевдонимы Баженова, которые появляются на его картинах в разных местах. Из них разве что «Саша Б.» вполне понятен, остальные — Пётр Шалый (самый первый, который Саша уже не использует), Paul Pauk или «1923» — тоже отсылают к модернистской традиции, но не имеют определённого значения, а некоторые работы и вовсе остаются без подписи.

Если спросить про любимых художников у самого Саши, то он вряд ли назовёт хотя бы одну из перечисленных выше фамилий. Его источники — это уже давно не конкретные и известные всем фамилии, скорее — ключевые слова, с которых начинается бескрайнее путешествие по «Пинтересту» или другим агрегаторам визуальных изображений, где можно найти новых авторов и новые изображения. В пространстве интернета, где всё уравнивается и синхронизируется, привычные черты модернизма обретают новое значение — отсутствие рациональности, «прямая речь» шизофреника становятся странным, тем, что можно назвать английским weird — как работы Босха, растасканные на демотиваторы, или группа «Страдающее Средневековье».

Практика постоянного повторения также противопоставлена поиску идеальной формы, скорее, наоборот — это напоминает процесс «разучивания», забывания формы. И это свойственно как живописным работам Саши, так, например, и его плакатам, которые были показаны в Основном проекте 4-й Уральской индустриальной биеннале современного искусства. Эта форма появляется у него неслучайно — он работает дизайнером и создание графической рекламы для него рутинное, каждодневное дело. Переплавляя рекламную форму в художественную, лишённую какой-либо функции, он использует те же методы, что и в живописи. Модернистcкий язык с его пластичностью аналоговой формы переводится в плоскость цифрового. Эти плакаты тоже встраивают в логику weird. Построенные по принципу дизайн-вёрстки (где-то появляется обрывок фразы, где-то — рекламные элементы), они на деле ничего не рекламируют, оборачиваются содержательной обманкой — здесь нет никакого смысла, кроме визуального.

Работы Саши Баженова — это модернизм, от которого остался только метод, который ищет новые пути бытования в сегодняшней ситуации. Это экспрессионизм, который уже ничего не выражает, в котором сохранился только чистый жест экспрессии. И парадоксальным образом в этом чувствуется не очередной кризис такого подхода, но едва ли не единственная форма его существования сейчас.